New York State Board of Regents and State Education Department

New York State Board of Regents

The NYS Board of Regents (the Regents) are responsible for the general supervision of all educational activities within the State, presiding over The University of the State of New York (USNY) and the New York State Education Department (NYSED).  The Regents determine the educational regulations and the standards/assessments that the SED implements. The Regents regulations carry the same impact as laws for the school districts.

The Regents are organized into standing committees, subcommittees and work groups whose members and chairs are appointed by the Chancellor. 
The Regents comprises 17 members elected by the State Legislature (the Speaker of the Assembly oversees the appointment of the Regents) for 5 year terms: 1 from each of the State's 13 judicial districts and 4 members who serve at large.  The Regents appoints the commissioner of education.

 Click the link Current Members of the Board of Regents to the left for contact information to the members of the Board of Regents.  Currently, Roger Tilles, represents the Nassau Suffolk regions.

NYSED is part of the USNY, one of the most complete, interconnected systems of educational services in the United States. The SED has the following main branches, each under the direction of the Commissioner of Education, MaryEllen Elia.